The structure and the built-up area of the town reflect the basis for the community's existence, which was agriculture and mining. Mining in Røros started in 1644, and the mines were in continuous operation until 1977. The settlement grew up around the river Hitterelva, which provided power for the copper works.
Inscribed on World Heritage List in 1980
Most of the town burned down in 1678 and 1679. The square-grid renaissance pattern of the town streets were kept when the town was rebuilt. The built-up area of Røros has developed slowly and without dramatic events, and can boast of representative buildings from 1700 and 1800 as well as buildings from our own century.
Eighty buildings are protected according the Cultural Heritage Act. An extension of the world heritage area and the determination of a buffer zone was added to the list in 2010.